date: 09.07.2002
entitled: "Crazy Week"


It has been a bungee-cord-of-a-week. The History Channel has been airing its nightly programs about Sept. 11, and I felt it was about time I made a conscious effort to watch, and remember the horror again. I have been reminded of it dozens of times per day for the past year, while walking to Wall St. four blocks away; while glancing out the window at the void and the surrounding, wounded, blanketed buildings; while catching glimpses of the new 7 World Trade construction documents pumping out of the printer as I wait for my drawings to spit out; while taking the fire stairwell to descend one flight and turn in my timesheet; while going out to lunch and breathing in particulates that trigger my most primitive sense and take me spinning back to that chaotic day. The psyche is an amazing thing.

On a lighter note, I switched to a new dentist this week. It was the craziest dental experience I've ever had. It is supposedly common practice now for the hygienist to not only wear a mask over her mouth, but to also wear safety goggles AND to pull a huge, plastic welding mask over her face. I felt like Elliot in E.T. The woman also had the nerve to give me a long schpeel about their tooth whitening services, which I don't need or want, and costs $850 out-of-pocket. I wanted to tell her there was a cosmic reason she was a hygienist, and not a salesperson, but I don't think she would have understood me. And then there was the pain. The little room became a torture chamber, as my body twitched and convulsed from her violent scraping and careless use of the water-pick. Those things are scary. She didn't even floss, and when I got back to work and looked in the mirror, I thought I had food between my teeth. But no, those were blood clots lining my gums. christ-on-a-bike! I have six months to find a new dentist office.

I went to The Weakerthans show last night with Joe. 'Twas a splendid time, seeing those cute, little Winnipeggers play their hearts out. Atom and His Package opened, along with some other nameless and boring bands. Atom reminded me of Wally Pleasant, who is from my alma mater college town of East Lansing, MI. I can't believe I just used the phrase 'alma mater'. I've always taken an instant disliking for people who say that. So it goes.

This weekend is going to keep me occupied with a cool project. My friend/co-worker, Tin-Min (great name! - yes, it's real), is proposing a design for the Pentagon Memorial, due next week. He wants me to keep his idea confidential, so I'll just say that I hope he gets the bid, and wins some cashy-cash. I agreed to be his editor for the written portion. I've been working on it for a day or so, and I can't explain how difficult it is to transform someone else's design concept into words. But I'm up for the challenge, and I have enough emotions running rampant right now, I should be able to scribble down something mighty-touching.

song stuck in my head:

<< | >>

<< | midwest expatriates unite! | >>
random | list | join | sissy | dland



notes
profile

archive
diaryland
next entry
current entry
previous entry