date: 09.12.2002
entitled: "Shiverees"


I experience a curious phenomenon quite frequently, and I wonder if many other people encounter the same thing. During a recent conversation, I found out that Joe (my b.f.) has experienced these same occurrences, which fascinated me.

I shiver when I witness a minute task being done. For instance, the main one, which happens all the time at work, is when someone sketches a drawing in front of me. They could be sketching a partition detail, or a building section, or just laying out an idea for something, it doesn�t matter what it is, or who it is � if they sketch in front of me, I get a shiver. But it�s not only a shiver, because that makes it sound too simple. Accompanying that shiver is usually this strange calm, which washes over me. I begin to get sleepy, as if I am in a trance. Luckily, the A/C is always on full-blast at work, so if anyone ever notices, I can blame it on being cold.

I also notice it on the subway. When I catch a person writing in a journal � shiver. Oh, and people using their Palm Pilot, especially if I can hear the little �tink-tink-tink� of their stylus � shiver. Or someone entering information on a quiet cell phone � shiver. And the killer is when I see someone crocheting � shiver.

It has happened all my life. Every haircut I have received, especially when the stylist snips at the nape of my neck � shiver. Watching small children play in front of me � shiver. It�s almost as if you can see a child�s mind work while he or she plays. My first college roommate had a laptop, and her nails would hit the keys, making a light clicking sound � shiver. I usually had to leave the room in order to study.

I want to know more about these experiences. I can assume they are all relaxing actions, and therefore I am put into a trance. But why the shivers? Joe suggested it is some sort of fetish. I suppose in some respects it is. Could it be a kind of subdued, orgasmic shiver? I think that�s pushing it, but it definitely has something to do with a simplistic pleasure. Life is very sensual, and I love paying attention to that sensuality.


song stuck in my head:

<< | >>

<< | midwest expatriates unite! | >>
random | list | join | sissy | dland



notes
profile

archive
diaryland
next entry
current entry
previous entry