date: 10.03.2002
entitled: "28th St. Station History in the Making!"


At the 28th Street subway station, on the N train, the MTA has applied strange, plywood shapes to the existing tiles. They have been there for quite a few months, creating much buzz about their meaning. It is obviously going to be some permanent art installation, but what will they do? Paint them? Tile over them? The shapes are basically indecipherable, resembling images reminiscent of Alice in Wonderland, or of fauna and flora residing in the sea. Today, there was an exciting revelation, as the subway train passed through the station. I looked up from my book, only to see that the plywood shapes had been traced with red marker, and then removed. A glance to my right revealed a man, tool belt strapped around his waste, meticulously sawing through the tiles, and removing the inner portions, revealing a void of the same, familiar shapes! I can only assume they are almost ready to install the mosaic tiles, or whatever they may be. This is riveting, considering Joe and I have been speculating and imagining what the new station theme will be. I will keep d-land updated as the drama unfolds...

song stuck in my head:

<< | >>

<< | midwest expatriates unite! | >>
random | list | join | sissy | dland



notes
profile

archive
diaryland
next entry
current entry
previous entry