date: 10.04.2002
entitled: "WAR PROTEST!"


Much excitement was brought to a close a few moments ago, here on Wall Street. My co-worker and I stepped out of the building into the cool, moist weather to grab some lunch, only to be swept up into the anti-war protest being carried out on the steps of Federal Hall. A woman shouted into a microphone, dwarfed by the patina statue of George Washington standing behind her. Large parade balloons were scattered throughout the crowd, one of them a large, pink pig with the words, 'Corporate Glutteny' printed on its side. Another was a yellow oil can, its meaning blatantly obvious. A group of women carrying an almost-lifesized puppet of Prez. Bush on a stick donned oversized, stuffed bras over their clothing, while grotesque, 2 foot long, tin foil-wrapped dicks with American flags plastered to them jutted from their groins (I really appreciate shock value when it comes to occasions like this). Cops swarmed like locusts, and guarded barricades, making it impossible for us to take our usual route to our favorite soup joint. But I suppose their presence was welcome, in a way, as a form of crowd control. Upon our return to Wall Street after eating, I experienced a Scully-from-X-Files-esque moment, as I flashed my building ID to get through the barricade holding back the crowd. I felt elated and important, but it was fleeting, for once I stepped back into the office, my brain reminded me that I am a lowly, piss-on, junior-level designer. It took all my strength not to run back outside to join the masses in protesting this unneccessary and ridiculous war.

song stuck in my head:

<< | >>

<< | midwest expatriates unite! | >>
random | list | join | sissy | dland



notes
profile

archive
diaryland
next entry
current entry
previous entry