date: 10.08.2002
entitled: "Autumn Air"


Today is one of those rare, Autumn days that really make me miss being in college. The air has a perfect chill, which reminds me of riding my bike home from class through crispy leaves, sniffling every 5 seconds to keep my nose from running. It's the air that feels too cold to be on a bike, until you've been riding a solid ten minutes, and it begins to relieve the sweat you've broken into. It is the air that forces you to breathe deeply, as it feels so very clean, yet it burns your lungs and esophagus. It's the air which speaks to you as you walk through the apartment door - it whispers a command for you to immediately begin preparations for grilled cheese and tomato soup. It is that chilly air, contrasting with the warm, aromatic, apartment air, which now forces you to take a nap on the sofa, as the now-late-afternoon sun's setting rays beam through the vertical blinds, warming the afghan draped over your dozing body. It is the exact air I know and love, which, while giving New York a wonderful feeling as well, I primarily associate with life in Michigan - a life much more simple, comfortable, and relaxing, in comparison.

song stuck in my head:

<< | >>

<< | midwest expatriates unite! | >>
random | list | join | sissy | dland



notes
profile

archive
diaryland
next entry
current entry
previous entry