date: 11.01.2002
entitled: "All Hallows' Eve"


I�ve had an entire week of Halloween goodness. It all began at Jonathan and David�s house, down the street from us, with a Halloween bash last Saturday. Decorations included a crazy, spooky art installation in the basement, miles of stringed lights, 80�s horror flicks for background ambience, and a goat head in a jar. I kid you not. Somehow, my mingling group chose a spot adjacent to it and periodically during the evening, I would gag as I attempted to enjoy the party snacks provided to us. Vegetarians, guacamole, and goat heads do not mix well. I either have an overactive or very disturbed imagination (or both?), because I couldn�t help but think of the goat head as I bit into the squishy guacamole. I cringed slightly each time. Here are some photos Joe posted from the evening�s festivities.

At that party, Joe, Jason, Jess and I were invited to another costume party on Halloween night. I hastily went out and purchased two costumes (I couldn�t decide): mouse ears w/ tail, and a one-size-fits-all tootsie roll costume. Our plans, however, fell through when we found out that only two of us were on the guest list, and it would cost $30 each for the others to get in. Screw that. So instead we went to the Greenwich Village Halloween Parade, and watched all the socially uninhibited and very enthusiastic participants. It was amazing! In a way, I felt I�d been propelled into the past, when parades were real, and not contrived by corporations. It felt like the renaissance, with all the slightly off, homemade floats and costumes, and so much creativity. Call me cheesy, but I felt this close connection with humanity. The human condition was right there, in your face, and it was unified. Everyone was happy and laughing and cheering, and the paraders were so proud to be a spectacle and source of entertainment. It was timeless.

And the holiday continues. I just caught some Simpson�s Halloween episodes on TV. But one question remains: why the hell didn�t I see �It�s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown� in the listings? Hm? I want some answers.

I�ve heard there are still going to be many parties throughout the city tonight, which means we�ll see many more costumes when we go out. I really wish it could last even longer. But I guess the novelty would wear off. Which reminds me, I also downloaded Ministry�s �Everyday is Halloween� the other day. It�s amazing how much they�ve evolved since the 80�s.

Happy Halloween! Or more accurately, Happy Day of the Dead!


song stuck in my head:

<< | >>

<< | midwest expatriates unite! | >>
random | list | join | sissy | dland



notes
profile

archive
diaryland
next entry
current entry
previous entry