date: 11.03.2002
entitled: "Cat Head"


This weekend has been very social, which made it seem much longer (tacking Halloween onto it added to the feeling as well, I�m sure). Joe and I tend to have either extremely active, social weekends, or to turn into hermit crabs and rent a bunch of DVDs and stay in all weekend.

We went to a show at Luna Lounge on Friday night. This was a band whose bassist was introduced to me by some former friends, about two years ago. The first time I heard them play, I was awestruck. They had this great, layered, shoegazer sound, and I really thought they had a lot of potential for increased recognition. Apparently, they felt this potential too, as they let that influence their style, drastically changing their sound and losing sight of their initial musical influences. I can�t even really describe what they sound like now. Shit, I think, describes it pretty well. They used to have a good grasp on stage presence as well, but they have completely killed it. The lead singer sports these terrible sunglasses onstage, which he doesn�t even wear while lurking around the bar before the show. If you want to create some kind of image, at least make it consistent throughout an appearance. I mean, Bono ALWAYS has sunglasses on. Not that everyone should emulate Bono, unless that means to emulate his evident passion for taking a firm stand behind his political views, but if he�s arrogant enough to wear sunglasses during a performance, at least he recognizes that arrogance and carries it through, wearing them for interviews, photos, and videos. I firmly oppose doing anything half-assed, and for that, I applaud Bono. Anyway, along with the pompous sunglasses, the lead�s vocal quality has noticeably declined, and he does this retarded looking, partially bent to one side, elliptical torso movement that gets old very quickly. Behind him, their amazing drummer has unfortunately added some arrogant flare to the show as well. She has picked up the arena rock I-like-to-show-off-and-spin-my-right-drumstick move. Heh, but who really cares? I should just sit back, and watch the main stream, Rolling Stone readers eat them alive. They won�t even know what hit them. But at least it will support their coke habits better.

Jess, Jason, Joe and I saw �Jackass� on Saturday night. Oh, it was great! And I got through it only having to cover my face three times, during the vomit scenes, of course. I won�t ruin the rest for all you CKY fans out there. I don�t care what kind of setting, it is always great to see human beings fall or flail their bodies in some way. It makes me laugh to no end.

Yesterday, I was talking with Joe about tricks we have seen people do with fire. Let me see if I can recall them:

-You know how sometimes, when you�ve had a pair of socks for a while, the fabric balls up, and develops little pills? Well, when I was in junior high, my friend Melissa used to put a lighter up to her sock (while wearing them), let out some butane, and ignite. The fire would sweep across her sock within a split second, and eat away the pills. Voila! They looked like new.

-I was fifteen when I first visited my sister at college. She had befriended this guy (I don�t remember his name) who did lots of cheesy stunts. Upon entering her dorm room, he would suck butane from a can, blow it out of his mouth while simultaneously flicking a lighter, and a huge fireball would emerge � PFWOOOOF. He also had a variation with holding a Kleenex in the air, which ignited and went out all before hitting the ground.

-Jason does something similar, where he lets the butane out of a lighter, into his hand, and lights it, creating a mini fireball. I haven�t seen this yet to confirm the story.


song stuck in my head:

<< | >>

<< | midwest expatriates unite! | >>
random | list | join | sissy | dland



notes
profile

archive
diaryland
next entry
current entry
previous entry