date: 11.08.2002
entitled: "Building Buildings"


Okay, all you New Yorkers, WHATEVER YOU DO, DON�T STEP FOOT INSIDE 30 HUDSON, OTHERWISE KNOWN AS THE HUGE BUILDING BEING ERECTED ACROSS THE HUDSON RIVER, IN JERSEY CITY (it is supposedly the �tallest building on that side of the Hudson from here to Miami�). Let me �splain. I�ve been sitting around, picking my nose at work for the past few days, for lack of a project to work on. Consequently, yesterday some big cheeses came up to me to say I�d be joining a new team, who happen to be working on that large skyscraper across the river. Please keep in mind that I have an interior design degree, here, but I belong to the technical group at work. So they plop this huge set of base building drawings on my desk, and expect that I will begin to draw section cuts through the building. Little do they know that I have no experience reading structural drawings (you know, the ones with all the beams that hold up the building?). I have plenty of knowledge when reading other architectural drawings, but I am no architect, and I am certainly no engineer. Yet, they call me an �Architect � C Level� at work, and they tell their clients, �Oh, our architects are working on that as we speak�. So, I�ve spent the past two days drawing in slabs and beams and columns and fireproofing and whatnot. I�m sure they will check it when I�m finished to make sure the details are correct. But this is an unnerving idea to me � the fact that there are HOW many architecture firms worldwide, and HOW many of them have unqualified people working on potential life threatening, or life-saving things? Ooof. And my firm is notorious for doing this. I once worked on a job where they had me designating wall types (?). They gave me a �crash course�, and let me loose. I know that walls surrounding stairwells and elevators need maximum fireproofing, but that�s about it. I wonder how many hundreds of codes and laws I wasn�t aware of when I was tagging those walls. I guess I will never know, unless I hear on the news that 200 people were charred to a crisp in Washington D.C., due to faulty fireproofing. Heh.

I checked my stats this morning, and was delighted to see that I am now receiving referrers from GOOGLE! My site is finally in the databases. The two searches, which led to my diary were �Hasidic Jewish Women�s Wigs� and �28th Street subway station mosaics�. Well, bite my tongue. Champagne, anyone?


song stuck in my head:

<< | >>

<< | midwest expatriates unite! | >>
random | list | join | sissy | dland



notes
profile

archive
diaryland
next entry
current entry
previous entry