date: 12.31.2002
entitled: "AND THE COUNTDOWN BEGINS"


It is New Year�s Eve, although it does not feel like New Year�s Eve. I shuffled to the liquor store on my lunch break today, to pick up an assortment of vodkas. Ketel One is the staple, of course, with Absolute Kurant as choice number two. It feels good to drop over $60 on 2 bottles of liquor � very indulgent. Now we just need to fill the flasks and head to the bar! I just realized that this flask idea doesn�t really save me any money, only the chaps who will be attending this shin-dig with me. Ha-ha, cheat a little, they say. Hide those flasks in your coat pockets, and pour it in your cup behind the bartender�s back, they say. Ha-ha, we showed them! Eh, money�s just little pieces of paper anyway. I�d rather spend 60 bucks on liquor, fill the flasks, and have a good time, than to just go to the bar and order drinks. It�s all about being subversive.

I was filling out some online survey recently, when I hit the age bracket question. I stopped, eyes blinking in astonishment, as my finger slowly clicked the 25-34 age range. It hadn�t dawned on me that I�d entered a whole new demographic for retailing and marketing purposes. I knew about my official turnover in the eyes of the state, as far as driving is concerned, but to be a separate target group from many of my close friends and even my boyfriend in purchasing merchandise? I suddenly felt very alone�as if�floating on a raft in the middle of the ocean�like in Joe vs. the Volcano! I love that movie.

Back to the New Year�s thing. I�ve been listening to this girl (who�s originally from Texas, by the way) who sits near me at work gab with her friends on the phone. These people have been planning their New Year�s festivities since the day after Christmas: �well, there�s this party in Brooklyn, but nobody seems to want to go all the way to Brooklyn. And so-and-so�s party is on the upper west side, on 101st Sreet, which would be good because�.well, you guys can just come crash at my place afterward�.I don�t know, she�s being difficult about the whole thing�.I think I�m going to sort of dress up, but just a little, nothing too fancy�.that party is only charging $20 to get in, which is really good for food and drinks�.well, so far I�ve counted and there are about 15 of us�.ok, babe, THIS IS SO EXCITING! WE�RE GOING TO HAVE SO MUCH FUN! Alright, you too, buh-bye!�

If only I could see these people (Scrooge and Ghost of Christmas Past-style) � I can�t tell if I would have a hay day making fun of them, or if they would just give me an ulcer.

Ok, it�s 3:30, and the office is pretty much cleared out. I think I�ll skidaddle too.

Remember kids, go out and have some REAL fun tonight, unlike our little previously mentioned loser friends in the previous paragraph.

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!


song stuck in my head:

<< | >>

<< | midwest expatriates unite! | >>
random | list | join | sissy | dland



notes
profile

archive
diaryland
next entry
current entry
previous entry