date: 01.27.2003
entitled: "Satyrday Funkk"


I was in a funk on Saturday. A few things contributed, I believe. First, I didn't shower until about 2 in the afternoon. This somehow has an effect on my mood the rest of the day - why? I'm not too sure. Secondly, I was drawn into a series of the Entertainment Channel's 'Lifetime' shows, the first of which was about Martha Stewart. I went through a brief stint in high school and college, when I received her magazine in the mail every month - hey, I liked doing crafty little things, and baking cute cookies, so shut up. But I knew the whole time that the ideas weren't hers, and that she was a crock of shit. I just didn't realize how much of a bitch she was, and still is. I won't go into all the details, but let's just spill the fact that she went to work on her daughter's 9th birthday, despite her daughter crying and throwing a fit, wanting her mom to stay home with her. Bitch. The next show was about Cass Elliott, from the Mama's and the Papa's. Broke my heart. And of course, Joe had to go and rent '24 Hour Party People', which is a sort of document on Factory Records, during the time of the Sex Pistols, The Clash, Siouxsie and the Banshees, Joy Division, etc. It was good, but viewing the portrayed death of Ian Curtis just about made me weepy, and sunk my mood further into the mud. At least we went out that evening, to enjoy my friend Leeann's voice in the Park Slope Singers. I had no idea she could sing so well, and in Latin, too! When she asked if I wanted to join afterward, I had to decline. My reason: 'Oh, no, I just don't think I could sing songs about god and feel good about it.' Her response, 'We were singing songs about god?' Obviously, Leeann hadn't paid any attention to the latin words, nor the fact that one of the songs ended in 'Aaaaaamennnn.' Silly girl.

song stuck in my head:

<< | >>

<< | midwest expatriates unite! | >>
random | list | join | sissy | dland



notes
profile

archive
diaryland
next entry
current entry
previous entry