date: 03.05.2003
entitled: "sleepCAD-ing"


It is 10:10am, and I just woke up. Granted, I�ve been at work for one hour and five minutes already, but I swear I just woke up. I actually managed to get out of bed at 6:15, spend time with my rabbit, make breakfast, watch 15 minutes of NY news, take a shower, get dressed, ride the subway to work, put my umbrella up under the drizzly skies, fix myself a cup of tea, and sit down to an hour�s worth of reflected ceiling plan work, all without being fully conscious. These tasks were not flawless, I must admit � I kept dropping things this morning (the butter knife, the shampoo, the soap, my shoes), only to realize I had dropped them because my eyes were closed, thereby greatly interfering with my motor skills and depth perception. I also tripped twice on my way to work, probably a result of sleepwalking down Wall St. I�ll also probably have to go back through my work, ensuring that I placed the sprinklers correctly on the ceiling of this floor I�m working on � the last thing I need is someone�s horrific death-a-la-inferno on my mind. I wonder what people thought of me as I strolled in, eyes half closed this morning, stumbling to my seat. People were probably paying more attention to the freaky Catholics walking around nonchalantly with a smear of ashes on their foreheads. I love to look at people from an alien perspective, especially when I catch them doing something religiously ritualistic. Or, I wonder what aliens think of people when they see them turning a corner in their cars, leaning absurdly away from the direction of the turn! Haha, I love that.

I can�t believe I used to buy into the whole Catholicism thing. Wait, yes I can. I was a young, sheltered, inhibited kid, forced to memorize prayers that didn�t make sense, and to eat that nasty, Styrofoam wafer that stuck to the roof of your mouth throughout the rest of mass. I was told I would go to hell if I didn�t perform all these strange rituals � what a thing to do to a child! It is a wonder to me that our civilization has lasted as long as it has. Perhaps I shouldn�t speak so soon.


song stuck in my head:

<< | >>

<< | midwest expatriates unite! | >>
random | list | join | sissy | dland



notes
profile

archive
diaryland
next entry
current entry
previous entry