date: 04.18.2003
entitled: "piss in a bottle"


Bud. weis. er.

Think fresh. Drink fresh.

And Piss fresh, I say.

Ingest. Digest. Excrete, I say.

They've launched this new campaign ad on the subway, which simply shows the budweiser logo, and 'think fresh. drink fresh'. The background image is a close-up photo of yellow beer being poured and sloshing around, complete with some frothy 'head' in the corner. ew. i've seen this ad almost every morning this week, and each time the thought of either beer or urine makes me want to ralph. It is literally the color of acidic urine, as it is, say, after a full day without drinkng any water. Acidic nastiness. And each day I see this, the urge to whip out my black magic marker and write 'piss fresh' below it grows stronger and stronger.

Today is 'good friday'. So far it's not too good, but maybe that will change. It's not too bad, either, it's just kind of lackluster. When I was growing up, my apathetically catholic parents taught my sister and i to 'play quietly' between noon and 3pm on this day. We couldn't watch tv or listen to the radio, or even play outside, if i remember correctly. we had to come in the house and be quiet, perhaps read a book, in observance of the time christ was nailed to the cross. what is that?! i highly doubt it only took him 3 hours to die, so what the hell was up with this mid-afternoon interruption of playtime? and what was the point in observing it at all? i suppose i could ask that of any holiday or religious celebration, but this one has always just rubbed me the wrong way. kind of like seeing beer ads in the subway.

song stuck in my head:
Stella Was a Driver and She Was Always Down - Interpol

<< | >>

<< | midwest expatriates unite! | >>
random | list | join | sissy | dland



notes
profile

archive
diaryland
next entry
current entry
previous entry