date: 05.11.2003
entitled: "My Cute Mid-Western Mom"


Happy Mother's Day, Mumma!

The Mumma, 1974

I wish I could be there to spend the day doing something fun with her. Or just to sit at the kitchen table and talk, until something else interrupts us, like the phone ringing or my dad coming home. We used to sit for hours like that, snacking and drinking beverages, and laughing at anecdotes of other family members or friends, until we would be slapped back into reality by some sort of daily schedule. I think it was kind of therapeutic for us both.

But alas, I am hundreds of miles away, and had to send her a gift, instead of handing her one in person. This year it was a set of herb pots from Crate & Barrel, and my sister bought her lavender, lemon basil, and sage to plant in them. It would have been so nice to help her transplant them.

I miss her a lot. I miss my whole family, but at the same time, it really is better that I live far away, as I need that independence. I hope she understands that as she says she does. Deep down, she probably doesn't, and just wants me to be there.

song stuck in my head:
what's this? there's no music in my head!

<< | >>

<< | midwest expatriates unite! | >>
random | list | join | sissy | dland



notes
profile

archive
diaryland
next entry
current entry
previous entry