date: 01.28.2003
entitled: "mysterious odors"


upon my arrival at work today, i unwrapped my body from the nine layers protecting it from the icy, nyc winds and threw my coat over the back of my chair, as per usual. as my nose began to thaw, i caught the whiff of a very distinctive, makes-you-cringe-in-repulsion smell: it was the smell of ass. i quickly looked around, to see if anyone else seemed to notice it, but nobody seemed phased. i immediately wondered when and where i had last worn the pair of pants i was wearing, horrified at the thought that i had sat in someone else's ass sweat, and would have to walk around the rest of the day with this pig-pen cloud of proof. or was it ME?! no, i could still smell the fragrant shower gel and shampoo from my morning shower, so it could not be me. as i sat down to work, i noticed some workmen in jumpsuits walking through the office, heading toward my area, past my desk, and through the mechanical room door, near the corner of the room. could it be them? or could it be something in the mechanical room? was i prejudice in thinking it could be the workmen, or would their greasy hair and thick brooklyn accents even make their fellow workmen suspicious of their ass sweat odor? eventually, i casually started checking nearby garbage cans, to see if some weekend worker-bees, i.e., the people who think architecture is their entire life, had left some food behind. to no avail. my co-worker, dhuli, and i went out to lunch, and discussed the situation. she was convinced it must be food lying around somewhere, perhaps an old buttered roll, she specified (huh?), since our supervisors rarely get out to lunch and therefore leave food on or under their desks, in order to snack between meetings, phone calls, masses of email, and other interruptions. ew. surprisingly, by the time we returned from eating our way-too-expensive-due-to-wall-street-proximity lunches, the repugnant odor was gone. we shall see if it returns...

song stuck in my head:

<< | >>

<< | midwest expatriates unite! | >>
random | list | join | sissy | dland



notes
profile

archive
diaryland
next entry
current entry
previous entry