date: 03.30.2003
entitled: "Memory #1"


I have decided to begin documenting my childhood and adolescent memories, randomly throughout my entries, and in no chronological order. In a way, I feel this will be difficult to do, since I am an orderly person, and my first instinct is to type them out chronologically. However, I don�t remember them in chronological order, so that would be a little ridiculous. Okay, I will make a compromise with myself and keep them in clusters of similar time periods, or chapters of my life. But don�t hold me to this.

I�ve always prided myself on having a very vivid memory, especially my childhood years. I once had a friend who claimed he held no childhood memories, and the ones he thought he remembered, he later figured out they were derived directly from family photos. What a sad existence. He was a bit messed up, so I can see how it�s true. But I just feel I�m overflowing with memories, so much so that I want to write them all down before I forget them.

The first memory I can recall is from when I was about 2 � years old. I think it must have been nearing autumn, because the subject of my birthday had come up, which is in December. I remember being in the living room of my parents� little �starter home�, complete with brown, tan, and orange striped sofa, matching orange chairs (the most comfortable chairs in the world), and brown carpet. It was daytime, and my mom was in the kitchen, nearby. I was looking out the window, down the quaint, residential street. I asked my mom when my birthday was coming, imagining it driving down the street and pulling into our driveway. Strangely, I pictured my birthday arriving in my aunt and uncle�s large blue car, in retrospect, because I probably associated birthdays with family get-togethers. My mom said it would be here either in a few months or in a while, I can�t remember the exact words. It amazes me to think back, putting myself in the mindset I was in when I was so young, and to actually understand what I was thinking.

Another memory I have is actually comprised of many memories of being in the backyard of that same house. I�m sure there will be many entries about that backyard, since I spent a ton of time there, and it was such a great place to play. I�ll describe it in full detail later. Anyway, I remember sitting on our awesome swing set, complete with two swings, an average slide, and the most rockin�est part of all, this large, two-seated glider thing that I didn�t encounter in anyone else�s yard (the seats were blue). I always used to sit on the swings, and look up at the trees and the sky, in that sort of day-dreamy way that kids do. For some reason, I recall sunny, windy days more than other days, probably because I enjoyed them so much. I had all sorts of thoughts and questions about the tiny world I knew, including many things about nature. But the one thing I did not question, as I peered up from my swing, was the fact that the trees were what made the wind move. In my mind, I had given the trees a sort of personality, probably not unlike that of the trees found in the latest Lord of the Rings film, and I imagined their arms up in the air, starting up the wind to create windy days. I really feel at peace when I think of that.


song stuck in my head:

<< | >>

<< | midwest expatriates unite! | >>
random | list | join | sissy | dland



notes
profile

archive
diaryland
next entry
current entry
previous entry