date: 10.15.2002
entitled: "Katie, in caricature form"


A few weeks ago, whilst riding the Metro North train to meet my parents in Sleepy Hollow (yes, THE Sleepy Hollow), I handed Joe my little notebook that I carry in my bag at all times, in case I need to jot something down, and said, �Here. Draw a caricature of me.� He protested, with an I-don�t-want-to-offend-you look on his face, and said, �but caricatures are supposed to� � �pick out your most prominent features. I know�, I finished his sentence for him. He hesitantly took the pen and notepad, and began to draw. While he was drawing, he looked like he felt bad, yet like he was secretly enjoying it. And I don�t blame him. You see, Joe has this amazing ability to draw things in the most crude, juvenile way, and they turn out absolutely adorable. When he was finished, he began to announce a disclaimer, so as not to offend me, but I said, �It�s ok. I know my most prominent features are my bird-beak nose, my tiny eyes (my brother-in-law always compares me to Scooter & Skeeter, from the Muppets), and my huge smile. Let me see!�

And he showed it to me.

Sure enough. I love it!


song stuck in my head:

<< | >>

<< | midwest expatriates unite! | >>
random | list | join | sissy | dland



notes
profile

archive
diaryland
next entry
current entry
previous entry